Resource guide

Anthropic Copyright Settlement: About $3,000 Per Work

The court gave final approval on 20 July 2026, and the payment figures below were last checked on 28 October 2026.

Last updated October 28, 2026 1589-word guide By Jonathan West

The estimated payment is about $3,000 per listed work, according to the court, and the settlement administrator expects to send first payments on or before 15 November 2026. The case is Bartz v. Anthropic PBC, No. 3:24-cv-05417-AMO, in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California. The claim deadline passed on 30 March 2026. The administrator's site, the Authors Guild, Pearl Cohen and Music Business Worldwide do not state how a payment is split between authors and publishers.

What Authors Get from the Anthropic Settlement

Each listed work carries an estimated payment of about $3,000, which the court said is four times the statutory minimum. The Authors Guild describes that comparison as four times the $750 statutory minimum for ordinary infringement, while Pearl Cohen describes it as four times the statutory minimum for willful infringement. The table lists each term with its source.

TermFigureSource
Settlement fund$1.5 billion plus interestPearl Cohen
Estimated paymentAbout $3,000 per listed workCourt, as reported by Pearl Cohen and the Authors Guild
Works List482,460 worksPearl Cohen
Share of listed works claimed91.3% as of 16 April 2026Pearl Cohen
Notice reachNotices tied to 99.5% of listed worksAuthors Guild
Claim deadline30 March 2026Administrator's site
First payments expectedOn or before 15 November 2026Administrator's site
Split between authors and publishersNot stated by the administrator's site, the Authors Guild or Pearl CohenAdministrator's site does not state it

The court called the 91.3% claim rate "magnitudes above the average for class action cases." The administrator's site does not state an amount per work, so the $3,000 figure is the court's estimate and not a fixed amount.

Who Is Covered and Who Is Not

The class is the copyright owners of books, in the LibGen or PiLiMi versions Anthropic downloaded, that are listed on a Works List of 482,460 works. Each work needs an ISBN or ASIN, and a U.S. Copyright Office registration within five years of first publication.

If you think a work was left off the Works List, ask the administrator at 1 877-206-2314 or info@AnthropicCopyrightSettlement.com. The opt-out and objection deadline passed on 9 February 2026, according to the administrator's site.

The deadline to reinclude excluded works was 9 March 2026, and it has also passed. If an owner's work was excluded, ask the administrator about it at 1 877-206-2314 or info@AnthropicCopyrightSettlement.com.

What the Settlement Releases

The settlement releases past conduct only, up to 25 August 2025. Pearl Cohen reports that the release "explicitly does not release claims related to AI outputs or future conduct." The Authors Guild describes it the same way, stating that the past-only release does not apply to any output claims.

The settlement also requires Anthropic to destroy all original files of works torrented from LibGen or PiLiMi, along with any copies derived from them. That destruction is subject to legal preservation obligations. Pearl Cohen and the Authors Guild both report this term.

For a copyright owner, the release date is the boundary of what this settlement covers. Output claims and conduct after 25 August 2025 are not released, so this settlement does not resolve them. For ways readers and workers are responding to AI more broadly, see our fighting-back page. Background on the wider question appears in our explainer on AI copyright infringement.

What the Per-Work Figure Is Made Of

Our arithmetic check sits near the court's figure. It gives $2,855 per listed work if the net fund is divided across all listed works, and $3,127 per work if divided across only the claimed works. In our internal arithmetic check, we divided the $1.5 billion fund by the 482,460 listed works, which gives $3,109 per work before any deduction. We then subtracted the fee award, expenses, cost reserve and service awards the court approved.

The deductions total $122,461,308.46, which is 8.16% of the fund. Subtracting them leaves $1,377,538,691.54. We divided that net amount by all 482,460 listed works for $2,855 per work. We divided it by the 440,486 works that the 91.3% claim rate implies, and that gives $3,127 per work.

StepInput or resultBasis
Settlement fund$1,500,000,000 (interest not added)Pearl Cohen
Listed works482,460Pearl Cohen
Share of listed works claimed91.3% as of 16 April 2026Pearl Cohen
Fee award$101,561,111Pearl Cohen; Authors Guild
Expenses approved$2,635,197.46Pearl Cohen; Authors Guild
Cost reserve$18,220,000Pearl Cohen; Authors Guild
Service awards3 × $15,000 = $45,000Pearl Cohen; Authors Guild
Total deductions$122,461,308.46 (8.16% of the fund)Calculated
Net fund$1,377,538,691.54Calculated: $1,500,000,000 minus total deductions
Per listed work before deductions$3,109Calculated: $1,500,000,000 ÷ 482,460
Per listed work after deductions$2,855Calculated: net fund ÷ 482,460
Claimed worksAbout 440,486Calculated: 482,460 × 91.3%
Per claimed work after deductions$3,127Calculated: net fund ÷ 440,486

The check assumes the fee award, expenses, cost reserve and service awards come out of the $1.5 billion fund. It adds no interest, and the interest amount is not stated in the Pearl Cohen or Authors Guild write-ups we read. The court withheld 10% of the fee award pending a post-distribution accounting, and the check deducts the full award. How that withheld amount will be handled is not stated in the Pearl Cohen or Authors Guild write-ups we read, and if less is ultimately deducted, the per-work figure rises.

Four things would change real payments: interest added to the fund, a return of part of the cost reserve, unclaimed shares, and disputed works paid in a later distribution. This is a check on the court's figure. It is not a payout forecast for any person or any work. Multiplying about $3,000 by all 482,460 listed works would exceed the net fund, so the court's figure fits only if unclaimed works do not share in the fund. The administrator's site, the Authors Guild and Pearl Cohen do not say how unclaimed shares are treated.

Fees, Objections and What Comes Next

The court awarded class counsel $101,561,111, about 6.8% of the fund, and withheld 10% of that amount pending a post-distribution accounting. Class counsel first asked for 20% of the fund and then 12.5%, which is $187.5 million, according to Pearl Cohen and the Authors Guild.

The court approved $2,635,197.46 in expenses and an $18,220,000 cost reserve. It cut the service award for each of the three class representatives from $50,000 to $15,000.

Judge Araceli Martínez-Olguín granted final approval of the class settlement and entered final judgment on 20 July 2026. The Authors Guild reports that 54 objections and comments were filed and that the judge ruled on their substance. The administrator's site, the Authors Guild and Pearl Cohen do not state an appeal window. To ask about an appeal window, contact the administrator at 1 877-206-2314.

The administrator's site says: "We currently expect to send the first round of payments on or before November 15, 2026." The first round covers works without allocation disputes and with complete information. Works still in dispute will be paid in a later distribution. The Authors Guild said on 21 July 2026 that no payout date had been announced, and the expected date can change.

A copyright owner who filed a claim by 30 March 2026, whose listed work has no allocation dispute and complete information, is among the works the first round covers. The administrator plans to send that round on or before 15 November 2026. An owner who did not claim should ask the administrator at 1 877-206-2314 or info@AnthropicCopyrightSettlement.com. The per-work amount is the court's estimate of about $3,000, and our check lands at $2,855 to $3,127 after deductions. The basis is that estimate, the administrator's expected date and the arithmetic in What the Per-Work Figure Is Made Of above. Interest added to the fund, a return of part of the cost reserve, unclaimed shares and disputed works moving to a later distribution would each change real payments. The court's figure also fits only if unclaimed works do not share in the fund. The administrator's site does not say how a payment divides between an author and a publisher on the same work.

Music publishers have filed three separate suits against Anthropic over songs, according to Music Business Worldwide. The book class covers owners of books on the Works List, and these music suits are separate suits. For other AI legal disputes, see our AI lawsuits section.

Concord Music Group, Universal Music Publishing Group and ABKCO Music sued over song lyrics in October 2023. That case covers about 500 songs and seeks statutory damages of up to $150,000 per work. The same publishers filed a second suit in January 2026 covering more than 20,000 songs, seeking over $3 billion, and alleging torrenting from pirate libraries. BMG filed a third suit in March 2026 citing 493 compositions.

Anthropic contests the first case and argues that training on copyrighted material is fair use. In March 2026 the publishers moved for partial summary judgment on fair use. Music Business Worldwide reports no ruling on those motions. Music Business Worldwide also reports that the book settlement was agreed in September 2025.

The administrator's contact details are a phone line, 1 877-206-2314, the email address info@AnthropicCopyrightSettlement.com, and mail addressed to Anthropic Copyright Settlement, c/o JND Legal Administration, P.O. Box 91204, Seattle, WA 98111. A copyright owner with a question about a listed work should contact the administrator at 1 877-206-2314 or through the settlement administrator's site.

This page reports; it is not legal advice.

Frequently asked questions

▸ What is an Anthropic copyright settlement?
It is a class settlement in Bartz v. Anthropic PBC, No. 3:24-cv-05417-AMO, in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California. Anthropic agreed to pay $1.5 billion plus interest to copyright owners of books in the LibGen or PiLiMi versions it downloaded, as listed on a Works List of 482,460 works. The court granted final approval on 20 July 2026.
▸ How much will authors get from the Anthropic settlement?
The court estimated the payment at about $3,000 per listed work, which it said is four times the statutory minimum. Our arithmetic check, which deducts the fee award, expenses, cost reserve and service awards from the $1.5 billion fund, lands at $2,855 per listed work across all listed works and $3,127 per claimed work. The administrator's site, the Authors Guild and Pearl Cohen do not state how payments are split between authors and publishers, and the administrator's site does not state an amount per work.
▸ What is the latest update on the Anthropic lawsuit?
The court granted final approval of the class settlement and entered final judgment on 20 July 2026, according to the Authors Guild and Pearl Cohen. The administrator's site, checked 28 October 2026, says it expects to send the first round of payments on or before 15 November 2026. In the separate music publisher case, a Second Amended Complaint was filed on 22 July 2026, according to Music Business Worldwide.
▸ Is the Anthropic lawsuit legitimate?
The court granted final approval of the book class settlement on 20 July 2026, and the release covers past conduct only, up to 25 August 2025. This page reports that and does not judge the merits of the case. Anthropic contests the first music publisher case and argues that training on copyrighted material is fair use. Whether a particular work qualifies depends on the conditions under Who Is Covered and Who Is Not above.
▸ When will the Anthropic settlement be paid?
The administrator's site says it expects to send the first round of payments on or before 15 November 2026. The first round covers works without allocation disputes and with complete information, and works still in dispute will be paid in a later distribution. The Authors Guild said on 21 July 2026 that no payout date had been announced, and the expected date can change.

Latest related briefings