Resource guide

Ring Camera Alternatives: Local Storage and Encrypted Video

Compare the best Ring camera alternatives across subscription costs, local storage options, cloud artificial intelligence features, and encryption.

Last updated October 05, 2026 2070-word guide Editor Ban the Bots

The best Ring camera alternative depends on what you want to avoid. If you want to eliminate monthly cloud fees, local storage brands like eufy and Reolink store security footage directly inside your home. If you want encrypted cloud video, Apple HomeKit Secure Video uses end-to-end encryption (E2EE) on remote video files. If you already own Ring hardware and keep it, Ring says its legacy end-to-end encryption has been disabled.

Ring Alternatives Compared on Fees, Storage and AI

The table compares each brand on subscriptions, local storage, encryption, and artificial intelligence (AI) features.

Brand Subscription Needed for Recordings Local Storage End-to-End Encryption AI Features Price of Plan
eufy (Anker) No 16 GB built-in, expandable up to 16 TB Yes (AES-128 + RSA-1024 stated) BionicMind local AI recognizes up to 50 faces Not stated by the company for cloud tiers
Reolink No MicroSD up to 1 TB x2 (Home Hub) Not stated by the company Person, vehicle, and animal detection (Argus 4 Pro) Not stated by the company for cloud tiers
Apple HomeKit Secure Video Yes (requires iCloud+ subscription) None documented (clips are analyzed on a home hub and stored in iCloud) Yes (AES-256-GCM encrypted clips) On-device hub intelligence for recording decisions $0.99/mo (50 GB), $2.99/mo (200 GB), $9.99/mo (2 TB)
Ubiquiti UniFi Protect No ($0 licensing fee) Local, on a UNVR or Enterprise NVR Not stated by the company Local NVR handles all camera AI tasks $0 (no subscription fees)
TP-Link Tapo No (for local recording) MicroSD up to 512 GB (Tapo C120) Not stated by the company (128-bit AES with SSL/TLS) On-device AI person, pet, and vehicle detection $3.49/mo or $34.99/yr up to $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr
Wyze No (for continuous local microSD) MicroSD up to 256 GB on Cam v4 Not stated by the company Detection bundled with paid subscription plans $2.99/camera per month, or $9.99/mo ($99/yr) unlimited
Google Nest Not stated by the company Not stated by the company Not stated by the company Cloud natural language search and daily summaries Google Home Premium: $10/mo ($100/yr) Standard, $20/mo ($200/yr) Advanced
Arlo Yes (for cloud clips and continuous history) Not stated by the company for standalone use None documented (AES 256-bit with TLS) Cloud person recognition, video search, summaries $9.99/mo single camera up to $49.99/mo Ultra Secure
Ring (for reference) Yes None documented on standard hardware Legacy E2EE disabled, TAKE must be paused for some AI features Video Descriptions, Familiar Faces, Search Party Ring lists $4.99/mo ($49.99/yr) Solo, $19.99/mo ($199.99/yr) Pro

Why People Leave Ring

Without a paid plan, Ring allows owners only to view real-time live video and answer active doorbell rings. Saving, reviewing, or sharing video recordings requires a plan. Ring lists its cheapest plan, Ring Solo, at $4.99 per month or $49.99 per year for one device. Ring's figure comes from an archived copy of ring.com/plans dated July 12, 2026. Prices may have changed since then, so confirm them on ring.com before you buy.

Ring announced Community Requests for the Neighbors feed on September 4, 2025. Public safety agencies post investigation details to ask homeowners for video footage. When an owner chooses to share video clips, Ring routes the files directly into Axon Evidence systems. Ring says it partnered with Axon in April 2025.

In October 2025, Ring and Flock Safety announced plans for a Flock integration with Community Requests. On February 12, 2026, Ring and Flock Safety announced the joint decision to cancel their planned Community Requests integration. Both firms stated that the integration never launched and no customer videos were ever sent to Flock Safety. United Press International reported that the cancellation followed backlash to Ring's Super Bowl ad for Search Party, an AI feature that searches Ring footage for lost pets. Readers researching neighborhood automated cameras can review our guides on Flock cameras and Flock Safety data sharing.

On May 31, 2023, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) announced a $5.8 million settlement with Ring. The FTC charged that Ring failed to restrict employee and contractor video access and used customer recordings to train algorithms without consent. In April 2024, the FTC distributed more than $5.6 million in refunds to 117,044 affected Ring customers.

eufy Security HomeBase S380

The eufy HomeBase S380 hub stores video locally for compatible eufy security cameras. The hardware lists at $149 and includes 16 GB of internal storage. eufy says that storage expands up to 16 TB. The hardware relies on local BionicMind AI processing capable of recognizing up to 50 individual faces. eufy publishes that its setup uses AES-128 and RSA-1024 encryption alongside end-to-end encryption.

The Reolink Home Hub manages video feeds across up to eight security cameras. The unit supports two microSD card slots handling up to 1 TB each, providing 2 TB of local storage capacity without subscription costs. Reolink secures recorded footage using an AES-128 encryption algorithm. Standalone devices such as the battery-powered Reolink Argus 4 Pro support onboard microSD cards up to 512 GB. Reolink lists person, vehicle, and animal detection on the Argus 4 Pro and says there is no subscription fee. For a direct brand comparison, consult our detailed analysis of eufy vs Reolink.

Apple HomeKit Secure Video and Aqara

Apple HomeKit Secure Video is built directly into the Apple home ecosystem using an iCloud+ subscription. An Apple home hub decrypts the camera stream locally, analyzes footage using on-device intelligence, and encrypts recorded clips using AES-256-GCM before upload. Video files are stored with end-to-end encryption in iCloud, preserving ten days of historical events without counting against your cloud data allotment. The 50 GB plan costs $0.99 per month for one camera, the 200 GB plan costs $2.99 for five, and the 2 TB plan costs $9.99 for unlimited cameras. Compatible cameras include the Aqara Camera Hub G3, which provides local AI facial recognition and 1080p recording in HomeKit mode.

Ubiquiti UniFi Protect

Ubiquiti UniFi Protect charges $0 in licensing. UniFi Protect runs on a local UNVR or Enterprise NVR. Ubiquiti states that all security recordings remain completely local to your console, eliminating ongoing cloud fees and subscription tiers. The network video recorder (NVR) hardware executes local artificial intelligence processing directly across four to four thousand connected cameras.

The TP-Link Tapo C120 works without an ongoing service subscription. The camera supports onboard microSD cards up to 512 GB, which TP-Link states can store up to 37 days of 2K video. TP-Link says on-device AI detects people, vehicles, and pets for free. The C120 lists 128-bit AES encryption with SSL/TLS. Optional Tapo Care cloud plans range from basic storage at $3.49 per month to Cloud Advanced AI at $19.99 per month.

Wyze Cam

The Wyze Cam v4 retails at $44.98 and supports microSD cards up to 256 GB for continuous 24/7 local recording. Buyers who rely solely on physical storage do not need an active recurring plan. However, advanced smart detection requires a Wyze Cam Plus subscription at $2.99 per camera per month. Cam Plus saves cloud recordings for 14 days. Wyze Cam Unlimited costs $9.99 per month or $99 annually for unlimited cameras and adds facial recognition.

Google Nest and Arlo Secure

Both Google Nest and Arlo rely on cloud services to deliver recording history and advanced AI identification features. Google transitioned its Nest Aware program to Google Home Premium, charging $10 monthly ($100 annually) for Standard and $20 monthly ($200 annually) for Advanced. The Advanced plan includes natural language video search and Home Brief summaries. Google includes Home Premium for subscribers of Google AI Pro and Ultra plans.

Arlo Secure plans start at $9.99 per month for a single camera and scale to $49.99 monthly for Ultra Secure. Arlo plans include 60 days of video history alongside cloud features like Person Recognition, Event Captions, and Arlo Summary. Arlo says AES 256-bit encryption and TLS protect its traffic. Arlo's security FAQ does not describe end-to-end encryption. Arlo continuous 24/7 recording provides 30 days of history across up to three cameras, though recordings cannot be downloaded.

Keeping Ring but Locking It Down

If you choose to keep your existing Ring camera hardware, your configuration options for privacy are limited. Official Ring documentation confirms that legacy video end-to-end encryption has been disabled. Enabling legacy encryption previously blocked features such as Shared User access, Video Search, 24/7 Recording, Person Detection, and Familiar Faces.

Ring offers a separate setting called Throw Away the Key Encryption (TAKE). TAKE encrypts video and audio during recording, transit, and storage. If you lose your recovery keys and enrolled mobile devices, Ring cannot recover your videos. TAKE is not turned on by default. Using TAKE requires pausing encryption if you want to use Video Search, Familiar Faces, Virtual Security Guard, or view video feeds on Alexa, Fire TV, or ring.com. Homeowners seeking reduced network automation can read our guide to a dumb home setup.

No-Subscription Security Camera Options

Security cameras that operate without monthly subscriptions give you complete ownership of your footage while eliminating recurring fees. If your primary goal is buying hardware that never charges an ongoing cloud fee, explore our dedicated breakdown of security cameras without a subscription for complete hardware recommendations. Readers working without reliable broadband can also inspect our roundup of security cameras without Wi-Fi.

Who Should Stay on Ring

Ring makes sense if your home runs on Amazon Echo, Fire TV, and Alexa devices. Ring's TAKE help page confirms Ring video can be viewed on Alexa and Fire TV, with TAKE paused. Ring also fits if you want 24/7 Professional Monitoring, which Ring lists in Ring Pro at $19.99 per month. Ring suits Amazon households that accept monthly fees.

What Would Change Our Verdict

Our assessment of Ring and its competitors will shift if vendors adjust their firmware privacy models, data partnerships, or subscription terms. If Ring restores end-to-end encryption without disabling Person Detection, it would become a stronger choice for privacy-minded shoppers. If eufy, Reolink, or TP-Link begin charging mandatory subscription fees to view local recordings, we will drop them from our no-subscription recommendations. If Apple removes its requirement for an active iCloud+ subscription to store HomeKit Secure Video clips, it would represent an even better consumer value.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

▸ What to buy instead of Ring?
Buy eufy or Reolink if you want local video storage without monthly fees. Buy an Apple HomeKit Secure Video camera like Aqara if you want encrypted cloud video.
▸ Is there a camera like Ring but without a subscription?
Yes. eufy and Reolink sell security cameras that record locally to a hub or microSD card, and both advertise no monthly fees.
▸ Who is Ring's biggest competitor?
No source we cite ranks Ring's competitors by sales. Google Nest is the closest cloud-subscription match, with Google Home Premium plans starting at $10 a month.
▸ Do burglars avoid Ring cameras?
We found no manufacturer data or verified evidence that burglars avoid homes with Ring cameras more than homes with other brands.
▸ Does Ring share video with police?
Ring allows public safety agencies to post Community Requests to the Neighbors app. If a user voluntarily shares clips, Ring sends the video directly to Axon Evidence.

Latest related briefings